Academy Council

Mrs A Birch is the Chair of the Academy Council. If you would like to contact Mrs Birch, please do so via email at or by post to St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Pontefract Road, Castleford, WF10 4JB.

Governance-related documentation, Governor & Director recruitment details and Trust financial information can be found in the Governance section of the Trust website:

Articles of Association, Scheme of Delegation & Code of Conduct

The Academy Council of St Joseph’s School makes a real difference in helping the school to provide the best possible education for their pupils. To achieve this, the Academy Council is there to ensure that the school offers a safe, happy and healthy environment in which the pupils and staff can thrive to each reach their full potential.

The Academy Council, together with the Headteacher and the Leadership team help lead the school by providing a monitoring and strategic setting functions for the school. Governors monitor the schools functions by providing supportive challenge and acquiring assurance that the school leaders are fulfilling their duties. Examples of the functions are ( but not limited to);

  • Mission and Catholic life
  • Safeguarding
  • SEND
  • Staff training
  • Governance
  • Curriculum/pupil attainment
  • Pupil grants
  • Well-being- staff and pupils
  • Equality/Diversity
  • Data protection
  • Attendance
  • Complaints
  • HR
  • Staff grievances
  • Budget
  • Recruitment of school staff/safer recruitment
  • Health and Safety

The Academy Council is a subcommittee to the Bishop Constant Catholic Academy Trust’s Trust Board, and they are put in place to oversee the delivery of the Trust’s overall strategic plan and communication of information through the meeting minutes generated, school visits and meetings to inform future needs and set targets.

Governors play a vital role in the support, leadership and development of a school. It is important to note that Governors are volunteers, who usually have previous skills and experience in at least one or more of the functions noted above. Governors also receive regular up to date training and have a number of resources at their disposal to ensure that they are able to comfortably and effectively carry out their roles. If you would like more information about the role of a Governor please visit the Trust website .


Mrs A Birch

Chair of Academy Council / Foundation Academy Council Member

Canon John Aveyard

Foundation Academy Council Member (Parish Priest) Vice Chair

Mr M Johnson

Foundation Academy Council Member

Mrs C Colgate

Foundation Academy Council Member

Mrs J Shillito

Parent Academy Council Member

Mr R McGown

Foundation Academy Council Member

Mrs B Chernenko

Staff Academy Council Member

Mr G Rowlands
Parent Academy Council Member

Mrs Sarah Spencer
Head Teacher